Top 5 Oldest Universities In Nigeria

So we’ll be walking you through the top 5 oldest universities in Nigeria, Some of these universities dates back even before Nigeria’s independence.

*1 University of Ibadan

University of Ibadan, UI as it is fondly called is the first Public University in Nigeria. The university was established in 1948. It became a full fledged university in 1962. But before then it was a college of the university of London in a special relationship scheme in 1932. The university currently has a total of 16 faculties.

Click Here To See The List Of Courses Offered In University Of Ibadan (UI)

Notable alumni includes; prof. Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, Ken sarowiwa and many more.

*2 University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

University of Nigeria Nsukka, is the first indigenous and independent university in Nigeria was established in 1955 in Nsukka, Enugu State with a total of four (4) campuses to include; Nsukka, Enugu, Ituku-ozalla and Aba, with the Aba campus serving as base for Institute of Nigerian Languages. Lectures began on October 1960 with a total of 220 students and 13 academic staff to teach the students. The origin of the university can be traced back to 18th may 1955 May when a law was enacted to establish a university in the eastern part of the region. The premier of the region at that time, Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe was a pivoted figure in the enactment of this law.
Notable alumni includes; Ike Ekweremadu, Dora Akunyili, Peter Obi, Charles Soludo, Chris Ngige and many more

*3 Obafemi Awolowo University

OAU as it fondly called was formerly known as the university of Ife. OAU was founded in 1961, in Osun State, The university was renamed in 1987 in honour of chief Obafemi Awolowo who was the first premier of the western region, the decision to establish the university was due several reasons, one of which was to fix some of the inadequacies of the premier university, the university of Ibadan UI. At that time UI had no faculty of Engineering, Law School, Management Training School and Pharmacy School. Obafemi Awolowo University started the first Pharmacy School in West Africa and also the first Chemical Engineering and Electrical & Electronics departments. The university currently has over 60 academic departments. The university was once affiliated with the Loma University in the United States.
Notable alumni includes; Lai Mohammed, Kayode Fayemi, Femi Adesina, Femi Otedola and many more.

*4 Ahmadu Bello University

ABU Zaria as it is fondly called was formerly known as the University of Northern Nigeria. ABU was established on 14th October 1962, There were only two (2) Nigerian lecturers at the time of establishment, most of the lecturers then were British. The university has two (2) campuses in samaru and Kongo. The main campus is in samaru. The university is named after the first premier of the northern Nigeria, Sir Ahmadu Bello. The university has one of the largest teaching hospitals in Nigeria. The university admitted a total of 462 students into the 15 departments dispatched across the 4 facilities as at when established.

Notable alumni includes; Dino Melaye, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, Nuhu Ribadu and many more.

*5 University of Lagos

UNILAG, as it is fondly called was established in 1962, two years after independent, the university has one of the highest enrolments in the country having enrolled over 57,000 students since established. The university has two (2) campuses with the main campus located in Akoka and the medical campus located in Idi-Araba, Lagos State. The university has a total of 13 facilities and currently offers undergraduate programs, post graduate & distance learning programs to it’s students.

Some notable alumni includes; Akinwunmi Ambode, Wale Adenuga, Funke Akindele and many more.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top