There are a total of 48 state universities in Nigeria, The first state university in Nigeria dates as far back as 1972. Bridging the gap between formal education and the common man, was one of the major reasons behind the birth of these institutions. These universities are being built and managed by the government at the state level. So, today we’ll be looking at the oldest university in Nigeria at the state level.

We had earlier listed the top 5 oldest universities in Nigeria you can as well check it out

1. Rivers State University (1972)

Photo credits

Rivers State University, formerly Rivers State University of Science and Technology is the first state university in Nigeria, located at Nkpolu Oroworukwo in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria. The university was established in 1972 making it the first state-owned university in Nigeria. Although established as a college university then, In 1980 the school was granted a full-fledged university. The school currently has an estimated student population of around 32,400.

Check Courses offered by RSUST

2. Enugu State University Of Science And Technology (1980)

Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) was founded as Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH) on July 30, 1980. With the aim to bridge the gap between technology and the people, this university was birthed.

3. Imo State University (1981)

Imo State University (IMSU) is located in Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria. IMSU as it is fondly called was established in 1981. The establishment of this institution came after a law was passed on the state’s assembly floor seeking her establishment. The university admitted a total of about 392 pioneer students on 23rd October 1981

4. Ambrose Alli University (1981)

Ambrose Alli University (AAU) is located in Ekpoma Edo State, Nigeria. It was established by the then governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta States), Professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli in 1981. As of when established, the university was first known as Bendel State University, then Edo State University, it was later changed to its present name in commemoration of the late academic don Professor Ambrose Folorunso Alli.

Check out all accredited courses offered by AAU
Notable Alumni: Tony Elumelu, Festus Kayemo, Don Jazzy, Omawumi, Chris Oyakhilome,

5. Adekunle Ajasin University (1982)

Photo credits

AAUA is a state government-owned university.
Adekunle Ajasin University was first established as Obafemi Awolowo University in March 1982 by the late Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin who governed the Ondo state as of then. The succeeding military government of Navy, Commodore Michael Bamidele Otiko changed its name to Ondo State University in 1985. The school was later named after Adekunle Ajasin in a bit to immortalize him for his immense contribution to the establishment of the institution. The university is located in Akungba Akoko, Ondo State, Nigeria. The school offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs. The school currently boasts of over 20,000 students spread across its six (6) faculties.

Check out all accredited courses offered by AAUA

6. Ekiti State University (1982)

Photo credits

Ekiti State University Ado Ekiti (EKSU) was established as Obafemi Awolowo University, Ado-Ekiti on 30 March 1982 by the administration of late Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin, the first civilian governor of Ondo State. It is located in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria. The school has about 25,000 students spread across it’s Ten (10) faculties.
Notable Alumni includes:

7. Lagos State University (1983)

LASU as its fondly called was established in 1983 Lagos State University is located in Ojo, a town in Lagos State, Nigeria. The university has a population of over 35,000 students. The university also offers courses at Diploma, Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels. the school has 4 campuses which are located in Ojo (main campus), Ikeja, Surulere, and Epe.
Notable Alumni Includes: Wizkid, Desmond Elliot, Chioma Chukwuka

8. Ladoke Akintola University Of Technology (1990)

Photo credits

Formerly Oyo state University. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) is located in Ogbomoso, Oyo State, Nigeria. LAUTECH was Established on April 23, 1990. The name of the University was changed to Ladoke Akintola University of Technology after the creation of Osun State from Oyo State. The school has about 30,000 students spread across it’s seven (7), faculties

9. Benue State University (1992)

Photo credits library.

Benue State University was founded in 1992 The university was established by the Benue state government. The school has an estimated Students population of about

10. Delta State University (1992)

Photo credits

Delsu is a state-owned university founded on 30 April 1992 by the then Governor of the State, Olorogun Felix Ibru. The main campus located at Abraka, Delta State, and two campuses at Anwai, Asaba, and Oleh. With an estimated student population of 39,000 students, the School has 13 faculties spread across the 3 senatorial districts in the state.

If you think this post might be useful for others, please share it on Twitter, Facebook, WhatsApp, or send an email to friends. There are Buttons available for that below and they are very easy to use!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top